National Chair’s tenure extended

The Secretary of State has today confirmed a year’s extension to John Thornhill’s tenure as National Chair of the Lay Observers from 1 June 2022 until 31 May 2023.

John Thornhill said:

“I am pleased to have been re-appointed as Chair of the Lay Observers for another year. This is an important year for the organisation, as we and the service we monitor move out of the Covid restrictions that have severely affected  detainees. We are continuing to seek statutory underpinning to reinforce our independence and support the work of the thousands of unpaid public appointees who provide Ministers and the public with vital assurance about the conditions and treatment of those held in escorts and courts”.